Brentano String Quartet - Candle Light Concerts

  • 09 Jan 2016
  • 8:00 PM
  • Horowitz Center

The much acclaimed Brentano String Quartet to perform Jan. 9 in Columbia

The much honored Brentano String Quartet will perform works by Haydn, Shostakovich, and Dvořák at 8 p.m. Jan. 9 at the Horowitz Center’s Smith Theatre on the campus of Howard Community College in Columbia, MD. The concert is presented by Candlelight Concert Society (CCS), as part of its annual Chamber Music Series. CCS has a rich 42 year history of presenting internationally acclaimed ensembles and soloists.

The Brentano – named for Antonie Brentano, whom many scholars consider to be Beethoven's "Immortal Beloved" – performed the central music (Beethoven’s Opus 131) for the 2012 critically-acclaimed independent film A Late Quartet starring Philip Seymour Hoffman, Catherine Keener, and Christopher Walken.

Since its inception in 1992, the quartet’s performance has been called “passionate, uninhibited and spellbinding” by the London Independent. The New York Times extolled its “luxuriously warm sound.”  The London Times said, “The Brentanos are a magnificent string quartet… This was wonderful selfless music-making.”

Within a few years of its formation, the quartet garnered the first Cleveland Quartet Award and the Naumburg Chamber Music Award; and in 1996 the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center invited them to be the inaugural members of Chamber Music Society Two, a coveted distinction for chamber musicians. The quartet has been privileged to collaborate with such artists as soprano Jessye Norman, and pianists Richard Goode and Mitsuko Uchida.

The Brentano served as the first ensemble in residence at Princeton University where they taught and performed for 14 years.  In 2014 they succeeded the esteemed Tokyo Quartet as the resident string quartet at the Yale School of Music. The quartet currently serves as the collaborative ensemble for the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition.

January 9, 2016 Program

Haydn:                 String Quartet No. 39 in F-sharp minor, Op. 50, No. 4
Shostakovich:     Quartet No. 14 in F-sharp Major, Op. 142
Dvořák:                String Quartet No. 11 in C Major, Op. 61

Members of the Brentano Quartet are Mark Steinberg and Serena Canin, violins; Misha Amory, viola; and Nina Lee, cello.

Concert tickets are $35 for adults, $32 for seniors, $12 for full-time students, and ages 9-17 are admitted free with a paying adult.

For tickets or more information visit To purchase tickets by phone or reserve handicapped accessible seating, please call 410-997-2324.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software