Audrey Robbins Humanitarian Awards History

Since 1975, the Association of Community Services of Howard County has been recognizing people in our community with these prestigious awards to recognize the work that volunteers and employees do in service to others that go above and beyond all expectations in their service to the community.
These awards not only recognize the achievements of those honored, but offer
public recognition for the organizations and causes to which our honorees devote their time and energy.


Becky Mangus
Volunteer of the Year
Special Olympics of Howard County
Volunteer Team of the Year
Pam Grady
Voices for Children
Employee of the Year
Therapeutic and Recreational Riding Center
Employee Team of the Year
Donna Wells
Howard County Mental Health Authority
Legacy Award
Jean Moon & Associates
Business of the Year


 Judy Pittman
Volunteer of the Year

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority
Volunteer Team of the Year

Toby Orenstein
Columbia Center for Theatrical Arts
Employee of the Year

The MultiService Center Team
Employee Team of the Year

Corporate Office Properties Trust (COPT)
Business of the Year


  Steve Sternheimer
Volunteer of the Year

Atholton High School
Volunteer Team of the Year

Linda Hayes
Howard County Link
Employee of the Year
Employee Team of the Year

Business of the Year

Delegate Elizabeth Bobo
Legacy Award
Senator James Robey
Legacy Award


Julie Rosenthal
Volunteer of the Year
Bita Dayhoff
Bita Dayhoff Employee of the Year
 Senior Health Insurance Program (SHIP)
Volunteer Team of the Year
Camp Attaway
Employee Team of the Year

Allen & Shariff
Business of the Year
Bill Allen, Zack Shariff and Mary Cannon

Vic Broccolino and Executive Management Team at Howard County General Hospital
Legacy Award

2012 Award Winners

George Pittman
Howard County Public Schools
Volunteer of the Year

Donna Michener
Bridgeway Community Church Community Cupboard
Employee of the Year

Cold Weather Shelter
Grassroots Crisis Intervention Center
Volunteer Team of the Year

Maryland Access Point (MAP)
Howard County Office on Aging
Employee Team of the Year

Front row: Peggy Hoffman (MAP), Donna Michener.
Middle row: Anna Katz (Grassroots), George Pittman, Ande Kolp; Audrey Robbins Committee, ACS President Jackie Eng.
Back row: Emcee Dick Story

2011 Award Winners

Don Bard
Volunteer of the Year

Neighbor Ride
Volunteer Team of the Year

Barbara Coleman
Maryland Legal Aid
Employee of the Year

Employee Team of the Year

Front row: Don Bard, Michelle Glassburn, (makingCHANGE). 
Middle row: Jack Letzer, (makingCHANGE), Barbara Coleman, Brad Closs (Neighbor Ride), ACS President Harry Schwarz, Kari Staddon, makingCHANGE.
Back row: Deb Popiel, Audrey Robbins Awards Co-Chair, Nancy Huggins, Audrey Robbins Awards Co-Chair.

Retiring ACS Executive Director Anne Towne received a proclamation from Howard County Executive Ken Ulman proclaiming June 15 2011 Anne Towne Day in Howard County. Towne also received a proclamation from the Howard County Council.

2010 AR Winners

Kathleen Dugan
Center for Adoption Support and Education (C.A.S.E.)
Volunteer of the Year

NAMI-Howard County
(National Alliance on Mental Illness)
Volunteer Team of the Year

Donna Wells
Howard County Mental Health Authority Employee of the Year
Susan Rosenbaum
Former director of the Howard County Department of Citizen Services
Audrey Robbins Lifetime Achievement Award

Front row: Nancy Huggins, Audrey Robbins Awards, Co-Chair, Susan Rosenbaum, Kathleen Dugan, (C.A.S.E.).
Back row: Terry Owens, Emcee; Janet Edelman, NAMI-Howard Country, Donna Wells, Howard Country Mental Health Authority, Jay Blackman, ACS President.

2009 AR Winners

Chaya Kaplan
Volunteer of the year

The Serenity Center
Volunteer Team of the year

Carole MacPhee
Columbia Housing Corporation
Employee of the year


Front row:  Chaya Kaplan, Carole MacPhee (CHC), Gina Dyson, The Serenity Center (TSC).
Middle row:  Kristine Daniel (TSC), Debra Popiel, AR Committee Chair, Claudia Friend (TSC).
Top row: Jim Skirven (TSC), Terry Owens; WMAR ABC2 News, Scott Bickell (TSC), Frank Turban, (TSC).


Association of Community Services

9770 Patuxent Woods Drive, Suite 301
Columbia, MD 21046

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software